I’m a bit homesick. However, I’m not quite sure what that means. My home is very much here with my husband. I love our life together. I love our house, my kitchen, my Jeep and our animals. But I miss my family oh, so much. My parents are far away on the Isle of Skye and I just wish they lived right down the road. They are exactly where they are supposed to be but I can’t help but long to just drive a few minutes and end up on their doorstep. After all who wouldn’t want to be here…

Image

The view from my parents' house, Waternish, Isle of Skye

Image

My parents' house, Waternish, Isle of Skye

While I long to be in Scotland, what really made me homesick today was a gecko. While I was standing outside my in-laws’ house tonight, a lizard shot up the wall. I was immediately transported to Pakistan (mentally, of course).

Growing up in Islamabad, there were geckos everywhere, and by everywhere I mean inside our house. The “chipkali” were always comforting to me. Their presence meant that there were no mosquitoes and there is nothing I hate more than mosquitoes. As I watched the gecko crawl up the wall, I wondered about my old home and thought about how ridiculous it is that we don’t have lizards crawling all over our houses. My husband hates spiders and I’m pretty sure the presence of a gecko or two would take care of any spiders we have lurking around. Perhaps I’ve come up with a great new business idea – chipkali for sale!

