Tags

, , , ,

A few years ago, Kalsoom had a 90s themed party in honor of her birthday. It seemed that for several days (possibly weeks) many of us contemplated what on earth we would wear that was distinctly 90s. We all remembered faded and ripped jeans, leggings and stirrup pants but could not quite decide if we were really just projecting the 80s onto the 90s. At the time, modern fashion was particularly influenced by the 80s so it was easy to choose that route and still look somewhat normal. I, on the other hand, felt it was unnecessary to look normal and decided that I should look as terrifying as possible and channel TV’s Blossom (played by Mayim Bialik, now of The Big Bang Theory and attachment mothering fame) wearing washed out overalls, a white t-shirt and a black velvet hat with an upturned brim and large flower.

Myself and Sarah dressed in 90s garb

More than the costumes, what I loved about that night was the excuse to listen to all 90s music. If there is one thing that my husband and I agree on it’s that 90s music is the best. I was sorely tempted to have only 90s music at our wedding but several people pointed out that a wedding full of Backstreet Boys and Nirvana might not appeal to the masses. Every weekday at noon, a local radio station plays an hour of 90s music. When I catch the show, I’m quickly transported to fun and fabulous times in middle and high school. In a little tribute to 90s music, here is a playlist sure to have you longing to be part of a mosh pit again. Please make sure you grab a flannel shirt or wear your overalls backwards while listening.

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Under the Bridge

Kris Kross – Jump

TLC – No Scrubs

Backstreet Boys – I Want It That Way

Jewel – Who Will Save Your Soul

U2 – One

Beastie Boys – Sabotage

No Doubt – Don’t Speak

Soundgarden – Black Hole Sun

Blackstreet – No Diggity

Oasis – Wonderwall

Unlike Rob in High Fidelity (played by John Cusak), I am no expert at making playlists. Please shuffle as you choose. Enjoy!

For more 90s music, check out VH1’s 100 Greatest Songs of the 90s.

I leave you with…

Being Fabulous

…a picture of me in the early 90s with my fantastic childhood friend. Even then, dressing up was one of my very favorite things.

