Tags

, , ,

Insomnia is a horrible thing that plagues both my husband and me. The last few nights I have gotten a second wind right before bedtime and my mind churns and churns. I try to use the time to be productive because I simply can’t fall asleep. When I do finally fall asleep, it’s very late and 5:30 comes super duper early in the morning. My husband, on the other hand begins to nod off around 7 and then wakes up around 2 unable to fall back to sleep. What a pair we make!

Sometimes I wish that I was a little girl again. My mother would make me warm milk and my daddy would tell me a story until I would, inevitably, drift off. Now, as I sit watching TV and writing, I have my milk but no one to read me a story. By my bedside, I have about 5 books and my kindle but somehow reading to myself doesn’t quite do it. My daddy is one of the very best storytellers I know. He has some of the best real life stories as well as a superb imagination. I’m thankful that I have half the imagination he has. Since I can’t bottle up those stories and send them to each of you, I thought I would compile a list of some of my very favorite bedtime (or anytime) stories. Enjoy!

1. The Faraway Tree, Enid Blyton (difficult to find in the US)

2. Harry the Dirty Dog, Gene Zion

3. The Princess and the Goblin, George MacDonald

4. The Malory Towers Series, Enid Blyton

5.The Boxcar Children, Gertrude Chandler Warner

6. The Best Nest, P. D. Eastman

