Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m longing a little bit for summer days in Scotland. This can be the most wonderful time of the year there. It all hangs on the weather and this last week on Skye has been just perfect – almost toooooooo hot. In today’s daily report from Scotland (that my dad writes), PC’s had to water the plants today because it’s such a scorcher! That conjures up images in my mind of the natives stripping off and turning beat red. M has been sitting out back taking in the sun for you have to seize these moments because they are fleeting fast. At any moment, the heavens could open and the rain come pouring down.

One of the most glorious things about this time of year in Scotland is the sunset. All summer long you see cars racing passed my parents’ windows. At the end of the Waternish peninsula, looking toward the Outer Isles, some of the best sunsets in the world can be captured.

This was one of the very best places to spend time as a child. We were let loose only to return when we were hungry, dirty, or tired. The days were so long that they never seemed to end. Robert Louis Stevenson captures summer days in Scotland so well in his poem:

Bed in Summer

In winter I get up at night
And dress by yellow candle-light.
In summer quite the other way,
I have to go to bed by day.

I have to go to bed and see
The birds still hopping on the tree,
Or hear the grown-up people’s feet
Still going past me in the street.

And does it not seem hard to you,
When all the sky is clear and blue,
And I should like so much to play,
To have to go to bed by day?

Of all the things I long to do with my husband, taking him to Skye is top of the list. I wish we were there now enjoying these long summer days, never growing tired but constantly energized by the sun.

