The return of Downton Abbey in the UK has me all in a tizzy. It is too much to think that everyone in the UK has access to the series, but I have to wait. I am consoled by only one thing. The new season is set to take place in the roaring 20s, and if there is one thing I love, it’s the 20s. Therefore, I have spent the last week imagining myself living in the Roaring 20s. I realize it was not as glorious as I imagine it, but I love the fashion and the hair and I choose any excuse to dress up in such a manner. I get this from my mother who similarly loves the 20s. In my head, my name is Chloe, I’m in Paris, and I’m pretty much fabulous.

I’ve had a love for 20s fashion since a young age. When we lived in Texas, I donned my first 20s fancy dress –

Me as a Flapper (5th Grade/6th grade?)

My costume was designed by my mother, and I felt like a million bucks. I think it was also the first time I wore lipstick. Ever since then, I have longed to be a flapper again. My wish came true a few years ago when my roommates and I picked a 20s theme for a party we hosted. I really believe it was the best theme in the world –

Flappers (with my friend Anette); my arm is in a purple cast and the cigarette holder is fake

We were so excited by this particular party and this particular theme that we even bought a 20s inspired costume for my friend’s two year old son. Nope, he did not wear it.

For the last several weeks (perhaps months), I have subtly (well, more overtly, really) been dropping hints to my husband that we should have 20s themed costumes for a Halloween party we are attending in October. I’ve already selected my costume, and it is hanging in my closest. Shhhh, don’t tell, but I’m secretly stashing dress-up clothes for our unborn daughter(s). My husband seems to be ignoring all of my hints, but I’m still chipping away. I feel he will be stepping out in a “Oxford bags” and wearing a fedora before I know it. We’ll have everyone so convinced they’ll believe they’ve slipped into a Midnight in Paris moment.

