Tags

,

I’m not very good at goodbyes, and I’ve determined it’s a family trait. Today as I dropped my parents off at the airport, they would not allow me to go in with them. We are all equally stubborn, so it seemed no one would win (or lose) until my dad reminded me of the last time I saw them off at the airport. I fell. Standing completely still, waving goodbye, I fell. That was enough to silence me and begrudgingly, I said bye at the curbside.

The truth is I will see my parents in just a couple of weeks, so this goodbye was not as hard as others. You would think I would be used to it by now. Goodbyes are a large part of our lifestyle. Our family and dear friends are spread throughout the world and time spent together is always precious, and saying goodbye becomes harder and harder.

When a dear friend from high school was visiting a few weeks ago, I realized I never said goodbye to him either. It’s not pleasant, and it’s not fun. The reality is we do not know when we will see each other again, but it seemed somehow easier to act as if we would meet for coffee the very next day.

My husband has been dreading this evening for a while now. “You’re going to cry, aren’t you?” I probably will. So, in an effort to distract, I headed to the gym. When I got to the parking lot, I drove right back out, down the road about a mile and parked at a nearby trail. The outdoors seemed more therapeutic. With a 90’s Pandora station playing a little too loudly, I immersed myself in the Indian summer day we were having. It’s amazing what the great outdoors can do for my soul.

